top of page

Crufts 2018! My First Visit


This year I went to the one and only Crufts for the very first time! I have uploaded my Crufts haul onto my YouTube channel, where I go through the many items I received and bought from the one day I spent there. However, I wanted to write about my overall first experience of visiting Crufts for myself and for any of you guys who are interested in perhaps going or are just nosy and want to know my feelings about my first trip to the event!

I joined the Young Kennel Club at the beginning of the year and from this I gained a free ticket to attend Crufts! This is actually a wristband which stall holders also enter with, so most security there actually assumed I was there with a stall, allowing me access thought areas- just side doors really- which a ticket holder wouldn't have been able to go. So this in itself was so cool! However, with events and any new experiences which just slightly push me out of my comfort zone, I get ridiculously anxious about! If anybody experiences any sort or degree of anxiety would agree that it isn't a nice feeling to have, and unfortunately can leave you feeling unable to do some things no matter how much you want to! During the lead up to Crufts I was a bag of nerves which was completely normal for me, but I was not only excited for the event itself, but also for getting there and coping with it all so I can actually enjoy myself! And luckily I surprised myself!

The early start and journey there was of course the perfect time to feel anxious, but I had my boyfriend William with me who is the best company, but actually when I got there... after a good 30 minutes finding a way in ( funny story we took a side door due to the carpark we chose) the atmosphere and whole experience felt surprisingly relaxed! Although yes Crufts can get extremely busy at times in certain areas, the layout on the NEC allows you places to go to get away from the crowded halls and eat! I didn't know there would be two Subways in the Plaza?!

I was pleased getting the ticket from the YKC was kind of "forcing" me to go, as I am amazing at avoiding events... even if I really want to attend them, if I have any slight reservations or worries, no matter how unreasonable, my brain is a pro at forgetting all about it! BUT I had an amazing day and not once did I feel massively overwhelmed and I managed to silence any niggling anxiousness.

Due to funny attempts at finding a side door entrance, having to find our way around the NEC, and trying to not miss a single stall (this is bound to happen by the way there is so much to look at) I thought I would share 5 Top Tips I have learnt from my fist experience. And for any of you planning on going to Crufts for the first time, I hope these help!

1: Plan which car park you'd like to be in and how to get there.

For some of you this may not be something you really care about and you may be happy to just turn up and find your way to any car park which is easy, but remember the NEC is BIG! I however can be very picky ;) I like to preplan and I hate unexpected difficulties! So, if you're like me and would prefer to chose a much shorter walk back to your car, or not take a shuttle bus to it, then pre-picking your car park and entrance can be very helpful! Although when we got there they had technically shut the car park we wanted but they let us in luckily! Also to help yourself out just a little bit more, get there early! Trust me this may sound obvious but it gets a lot more busy as the day goes on, and personally I would rather get there early when its more quiet, see everything a lot easier and leave "early" when it's packed and cramped and I'm struggling to enjoy it and not feel overwhelmed.

2: Take snacks.

It's just a thought because it can be a very long day! This for me was extremely important because I am a huge grazer and I'm always snacking, but especially at times when I have been feeling anxious, during these times, especially the journey there, I have no appetite from feeling sick, and so later on I am bound to get very peckish very quickly! But no worries about taking a full blown lunch, there are plenty of places to eat at in the plaza- but again expect these to get busy at peak times... and save yourself a subway being mucked up!

3: Pre-plan which stalls you want to visit and where they are.

By all means you can turn up with no expectations of seeing anything in particular and still be amazed and have a great trip, but if there is a company you know will be there and you want to see them, they're likely to have something special on for Crufts, so you don't ant to miss them! Find out which hall and stall number they are and then you can have a form of a plan of action! I saw everything in hall and two and a tiny selection in hall three, but because I had no expectations of the rest, I wasn't bothered about missing them, I have next year! It's also a great way to get excited about going, you can find and plan to take advantage of some amazing special deals they could be holder for Crufts, or even possibly limited edition products! Also remember you can hold a purchased item at the stall and collect it at the end of the day as you could be left carrying it about with you all day! I kept this in mind incase I bought Casper a new bed.

4: Take advantage of the reps and any new brands you come across.

This is something I love about Crufts and it is truly the best place to discover new products and brands! Obviously with nutrition it's a bit different as each brand rep will tell you why the food they're representing would be the best for your dog, but obviously there's a lot more "to it" when trying to find the right food for your dog! ( In this case the best place to go would be the Pet Food Expert website- link below) It's good to take their info but also to do further research with it after. But for products Crufts is amazing for bringing the wide variety of them together in one place where you can discover new human and dog products and find out what is great about them from the reps. So I say while you're all there take advantage of them and enjoy it!

5: Take your dogs measurements with you!

I am obsessed with buying Casper new accessories to wear and there are PLENTY of options or gorgeous products for you to buy for your pooch, but obviously you don't have them there to try them on! By taking measurements, or even a spare collar which is properly fitted to them, gives you the approx size you want to buy. This is perfect to avoid the dreaded returns and exchanges! Furthermore, I love discovering unique companies, especially those who hand make gorgeous attire for pooches, and I'd prefer to supporting a smaller business over a large one any day!

I hope these tips will be helpful for some of you who are perhaps looking at going to Crufts next year and if you are I say just go for it, any dog lover is bound to love it! And even if you just go the once you can say you have been and that you have experienced the biggest dog event of the year! I hope you have enjoyed reading this blog, it was a slightly tricky one for me to compose as it is also touching upon me personally, but I want this blog and my YouTube to become my own little spaces where I can be completely comfortable writing or speaking openly on. And at the end of the day, I loved Crufts, Casper was thoroughly spoilt, and I just wanted to write about it!

Are any of you guys wanting to go next year or on the future?

And if anybody reading has been before I'd love to hear your comments on the event!

Thanks for reading,

Amy & Casper


More blogs coming soon

No tags yet.
bottom of page