top of page

Testing The Furbo Dog Camera


Supported by Furbo. Advertisement.

I am always buying and testing products for Casper... and sometimes myself! But the Furbo camera has always been a product I have loved the sound of, and so when we were offered to collaborate with them through our instagram, I jumped at the opportunity! What an exciting first collaboration!

Although this is advertisement, I will always write honestly about a product I have tried, and I was able to compare the features the Furbo camera offers to previous cameras I have used, and so I was interested to see the difference between them.

The initial impression I got from the Furbo camera was how sophisticated it is, from the lovely packaging to the stylist features of the camera. We are soon moving house, where I will be further putting it to the test, but I couldn't help but realise how it fits into a home much better, it's discrete and I don't feel the need to hide it like I did with my camera before. The wooden lid and white body adds style and hides the fact that it is a camera. The 160 degree wide-angle view not only allows me to view the entire room, it takes away the feature of having to have a moving camera, which trust me is a lot less hassle when you are trying to see where your dog is in that one room!

The first thing I noticed when I first used it, was the camera quality. It is a 1080p camera with night vision and it is significantly better than what I was using before! Also, the sound is much more clear and sensitive to noise, as before I was frequently experiencing muffled sounds constantly coming through, but with the Furbo it's like I'm still there with Casper, it's like we will "always be together" like the Furbo claims!

I have never liked the idea of ever using the microphone to talk to him when I'm out, especially if I'm not going to be home anytime soon, as I feel like Casper would get confused and expect me to be home already, so possibly get stressed that he can't find me. However, knowing that the microphone option is there if I ever needed it is reassuring. I did however test it from just being out the front of the house, and Casper clearly responded to the Furbo!

Now, my favourite feature about the Furbo (and probably Casper's favourite too), is that it can dispense treats with a simple swipe on your phone through the app! Casper was lucky enough to receive some treats with the Furbo to get him started, but any treat with a 1cm diameter will work in the camera. The treat tossing feature also offers a sound before "tossing", allowing your dog to create a positive association with the camera and sound, so it works like clicker training in that sense! Now this could become very helpful especially with dogs who are perhaps more nervous or who suffer from separation anxiety. This is because not only can you watch how they act when you begin to test leaving them, but this positive association with being left could help the process be a littler easier for you and your precious pooch, because it can't be nice for either of you! I however have to go careful with the opposite affect, because Casper very very quickly associated the Furbo with the treats, as he then begun to stare it down expecting more! So I can't use it too often, otherwise I could expect to see his eyes and nose everytime I go to check on him and not actually see him relaxing in our home... or I could come home to the camera on the floor from his attempt at finding the hidden treats for himself!

The camera links to the Furbo app which works for iOS, android devices and the Apple watch, and it is through this app that you can spy on your dogs while being out of the house. It further allows you to save pictures and videos and also a 'barking notification', which I love because Casper rarely barks unless it's for a good reason, so this feature is quite important to me. Overall I have enjoyed testing the Furbo camera and I am happy to say that it will be replacing my current camera, because it has proven to me that the quality and features it offers are definitely worth it!

Have you tried the Furbo camera? Or do you use another brand or are you thinking about giving one a go? I'd love to hear your thoughts, but if you're interested in the Furbo you can get them directly from the Furbo website or Amazon. They are currently on offer for £199.00 (September 2018) instead of £249.00, and that's with a 2 year warranty, 30 day money back garantee and if you're in the UK that's with free delivery.

Thanks for reading,

Amy & Casper

Informercial. Advertising video.


More blogs coming soon

No tags yet.
bottom of page